Books, movies and I

Is there anything more satisfying than bullying a bully? For that pleasure alone, if I had to choose a film character to play, I would pick Matilda Wormwood from Matilda.

matilda

You know her, right? From Roald Dahl’s novel, if not from the film of the same name?

I fell in love with the idea of this little girl standing up to the biggest bully of them all – Thrunchbull, the evil headmistress who would grab girls by their pigtails and fling them away or pick boys up by their curly mops and drop them down without batting an eyelid.

Oh she was brave. However, that is just one of the reasons why I would like to be her. Matilda was a prodigy. She was a self-taught reader and found her way to the library when she was just four. I love her love for books. At four she was reading Dickens, Thomas Hardy, Hemingway, Kipling and Austen. That image of a tiny girl sitting with a book almost as large as herself, a glass of hot chocolate by her side, lost in the pleasure of reading is just  adorable.

I could do with some of her telekinetic powers too. The wonderfully exaggerated, over the top, typically Roald Dahl film where good, well and truly, trounces evil would be a dream to be in.

The other choice (which would actually have been my first choice if I hadn’t already spoken to death about it) is Kathleen Kelly from You’ve Got Mail – the sweet, self-deprecating Storybook lady. I love her. I love everything about her. Her passion for books and reading, her cosy little Shop Around the Corner, her story-telling sessions, her personal connect with kids… just everything. I love that she finds it difficult to be nasty, even to people she quite dislikes. That’s a lot like me. Yeah I’d definitely want to play Kathleen Kelly.

kathleen

That she bumps into a handsome, funny, rich, book-shop owner would only be a cherry on a  cake that was perfect already.

Rather coincidentally, the book she’s reading out to the kids during the story-telling session in the film, is by Roald Dahl.

Which film character would you like to play?

If you want to check out some more fun posts hop on across to Jaibala’s blog. She picked Hermione and Katniss, by the way, two of my other favourites.

#TadkaTuesday
13 thoughts on “Books, movies and I

  1. deepagandhi

    I love your choices especially Matilda. She wa a smart girl who is humble and genius. Matilda might be the smartest character I’ve ever met, and that makes me like her. Thanks a lot for writing for #TadkaTuesday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. shopgirlanonymous

    My daughter and I just watched Matilda this week, for her it was a first time. I was so surprised with how enraptured she became, she normally doesn’t sit through live action movies. :). But it even captured that tiny three year old’s imagination from the first scene.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Rachna

    I love your choice of Kathleen Kelly. I loved her character too. I would like to play the kickass Meryl Streep in Devil Wears Prada. I have zero acting skills but well you asked. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. RamyaRao

    I love the character of Matilda so much. It’s the only movie stored in my phone. I feel I could watch it anytime and still fall in love with the character.
    And me playing any character, while I love many, I feel a movie is yet to be made for me to connect. 😛😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Shilpa Gupte

    I knew you would love characters that were in love with books, you Book Lady! 🙂
    And, what a choice! Mathilda and Kathleen Kelly! How I love watching the sweet little, feisty Mathilda and, of course, Kathleen, the bookshop owner. And, the book shop, too! Cute n cozy! Love both the films and the characters! Fabulous choice! ❤

    Like

    Reply
  6. shanayatales

    You know I agree, Kathleen is a lot like you, so that would be perfect casting. 😀

    And this might come as a shock, but I haven’t read Matilda yet. I know, I know, but what can I say except – so many books, so little time.

    Having said that, this post has put Matilda on my TBR for 2017. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

