Of Men and Women #Teaser Tuesday 5

It’s time for Teaser Tuesday, a meme hosted by Should Be Reading. Here are a few lines from my current read – Yajnaseni – the English translation of the Oriya novel of the same name by Pratibha Ray. The translation is by Pradip Bhattachrya.

1829763

 

“When I saw or heard that in the king’s royal apartments many queens, bedecking themselves, kept waiting for him, the king might or might not visit one queen’s apartments, then I wondered how it would be if it were the other way about? One queen and a thousand kings! They would spend night after night waiting for her! He whom the queen loved best would be made the “Chief King” by her. Hearing my views the sakhis used to laugh, “Princess! Keep those thoughts to yourself….”

I’m more than half way through the book and I haven’t exactly warmed up to it but these lines said by the fiery princes Yajnaseni are a thoughtful commentary on how unequal men and women were, still are, in many ways.

 

download

If you fancy joining in, here’s how…
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two teaser sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
• Share the title and author so other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

13 thoughts on “Of Men and Women #Teaser Tuesday 5

    1. Beat About The Book Post author

      I’m not too happy with the translation which is why I’m not enjoying the book as much as I should have. The story remains powerful though and I’m just half way through – the war remains to be fought.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Beat About The Book Post author

      Thanks Vinitha. Yes that’s true. Few people thought like this and those who did ran the risk of being ridiculed.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Parul Thakur

    That looks like a good one. Will check out the book.
    Tulika – Have you read Jhumpa Lahiri? Man, I have suddenly become a fan and I love the way she writes. So simple and such clean lines. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Beat About The Book Post author

      Yes I love her writing. Which one are you reading? I have a brand new spare copy of The Lowland. Let me know if you want it.

      Like

      Reply
  2. thatssojacob

    Hey there! I found your blog today, and I’m nominating you for That’s So Jacob’s March Blog Madness! It’s simple: find five interesting blogs today, copy and paste this comment, and give them a follow! Have a great day and if you’re so inclined, kindly come visit me over at http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com. Have fun spreading the blog love this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Menaka Bharathi

    Glad to read something like this, you know when we visit huge palaces I have always been intrigued with this thought, why did these women put up with such an arrangement. progressive words -wonderful lines chosen

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Beat About The Book Post author

      I know. The whole idea of being part of a harem and then fighting to be the chef queen, the daily insecurities, petty jealousies – it must have been demeaning.

      Like

      Reply

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

