Celebrating Differences #BookBytes 9

Some books come into your life at a particular time, at a time when you need to read them. When that happens the book takes on a whole new meaning, it becomes more than a story to be read and forgotten, it becomes part of you.

Hola folks. And welcome to another edition of #BookBytes. I’ve been reading The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak and the age-old Sufi wisdom in its pages has blown me away completely.

Here’s the quote I picked for today:

We were all created in His image, and yet we were each created different and unique. No two people are alike. No hearts beat to the same rhythm. If God had wanted everyone to be the same, He would have made it so. Therefore, disrespecting differences and imposing your thoughts on others is an amount to disrespecting God’s holy scheme.

The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak

These lines hold special significance in the modern context when countries, societies, communities, even thought processes are getting increasingly narrower, more intolerant and rigid. It pains me, terrifies me even, somedays when I think where this could lead us. And I wish I had a magic wand that would make us all more accepting, more open to and appreciative of differences.

***********

If you stumble upon a quote, a line (or two) or even a passage from a book that leaps out at you demanding to be shared join in with #BookBytes.

Here’s what you have to do:

  • Share it on your blog and link back to this latest post.
  • Put in the logo (above) so it’s easy to spot.
  • Leave the link to your blogpost in the comments so I can drop by too.
  • Book Bytes goes live every 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month. Do join in.

The next edition is scheduled for June 18th.

9 Replies to “Celebrating Differences #BookBytes 9”

  1. This book is one of my favourites. You rightly said, it came to me at a time when I needed to read it. The words of Rumi are beautiful. The words you selected are so relevant today. Excellent choice.

    Like

    1. Thank you Lata. This is a book that needs to be read at leisure savouring each line. I remember you recommending it long back. Glad I could get to it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just what I was thinking today when I read the issues the members of the LGBTQIA community face.
    Each of us has been created different, and each of us has the right to choose the life we wish to live, especially in the privacy of our home. Why can’t we “Live and let live” instead of impose our rules and expectations on others?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I love the thought that we are a particular way because God intended us to be that way. I wish people would understand that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These lines are extremely relevant to the present times as they have been since eternity. 40 rules of love is one of my favourite books. I don’t know if it came to me at the right time but all the rules made an impact on me. I found myself incapable of containing them inside me. I wanted to shout them out from the 8th-floor balcony of my parents’ flat where I was sitting and reading this book and also how they made me feel. Of course, I didn’t do it.
    Link to my post – https://thebespectacledmother.com/2019/06/04/a-refugees-heart-bookbytes-5/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha.. I get the feeling but that goodness you reigned yourself in :-). On a serious note, even beyond the rules, the book was a treasure trove of quotes. I wanted to mark everything, write everything down, remember everything.

      Like

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.