Book of Thrillers: A quick delightful indulgence

Top post on Blogchatter

Book: The Blogchatter Book of Thrillers (Anthology – various authors)
Genre: Thriller
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Readomania

If you’ve been reading my posts here, you’ll know that short stories are my new-found love. Yeah yeah I know, I’m late to the party, however, I’m well on my way to rectifying the situation. As part of forging a deeper friendship with this genre, I picked up the Book of Thrillers.

On offer is a set of 15 stories by various authors, some haunted some not, but thrillers all.

I loved that I could read the book in bite-sized pieces and come away with my spine atingle or simply blown away by the beauty of the writing.

The standout stories for me were those told in the first person, some by unusual and/or unreliable narrators. That’s the kind of narrative I enjoy the most because it adds an extra layer of mystery leaving the reader to distil fact from imagination or fabrication. It lends itself exceptionally well to the thriller genre.

is the one I’d pick as my absolute favourite for its amazingly creative symbolism. It tells the story of a young girl, sidelined by society simply for being a girl. Her frustration and longing for a more fulfilling life is expressed so well here:

Though I had a tight rein on my dreams, sometimes they slipped.

She’s constantly silenced until finally, she decides to take things into her own hands leading to a sinister end. I loved the unusual use of black and white and all that the two colours stand for — white losing its purity along the way and black becoming the colour of comfort, of safety.

should be read for its most unusual setting. That image of a man ferrying dead people sets the stage for a dark and thrilling experience. The story doesn’t disappoint weaving in an unexpected twist.

touched a nerve, with both my children at the edge of college, it was only too real. I hope every youngster has someone who tells them that:

…. sometimes, even hard work is not enough. You don’t get what you want; nothing changes, no matter how hard you try.

though a spooky revenge story, remains a poignant tale of lost love.

is recommended for the most unusual narrator and a gorgeous description of the lush fields.

The Blogchatter Book of Thrillers fits the bill if you’re looking for a quick and easy read for the scary season.

Buy the book here.

This review is powered by the Blogchatter Book Review Programme. I received a copy of the book for an honest review.

13 Replies to “Book of Thrillers: A quick delightful indulgence”

  1. Oh I love thrillers. Short stories are great when you are in a reading slump. I see some familiar names in the list. Hope it is available in Kindle.

    Liked by 1 person

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.