The two books of Harper Lee #BookDiscussion

I read To Kill a Mockingbird as a teen. For the longest time, I continued to count it in my favourites without actually remembering its finer nuances.

You know how that happens, right? You remember you loved a book but you forget the exact bits that made you like it that much.

Over the years, I read plenty of criticism of Mockingbird. It was panned for its objectionable language — specifically for the use of words like ‘nigger’. Some authors also objected to it for the white saviour syndrome it propagated. 

I began to wonder if I had been too immature when I read it which is why I had elevated it to a position it didn’t really deserve.

The only thing to be done, then, was to re-read it. 

And so I did.

To my surprise and relief, it overwhelmed me. Again. 

Let me say this one more time, with the maturity of all of my years — TKAM is a classic worth reading, detractors be damned.

To Kill a Mockingbird tells the story of…

…Atticus a lawyer in Maycomb county, and his two children Jem and Scout. 

The narrative unfolds from the point of view of 10-year-old Scout. Atticus is appointed the defence lawyer for Tom, a black man accused of raping a white woman. The result is apparent even before the case is brought before the jury, for the all-white jury would never let a black man go free.

Despite being aware of this colour politics, Atticus soldiers on, producing evidence after evidence that proves Tom’s innocence beyond doubt. And yet, to nobody’s surprise, he is convicted and is killed while trying to escape.

While racism remains the overriding theme of the book, what makes it special is the voice of 10-year-old Scout, who Lee modelled on her own self.

Read more about Harper Lee

To write about as complex a topic as this one, from a child’s point of view, and to get it so right, remains the most amazing thing about the book.

Harper Lee never wrote a book again, until, more than five decades later.

Harper Collins, in 2015, announced the publishing of Go Set a Watchman, a sequel to Mockingbird.

Obviously, then, there was tremendous excitement and (according to Amazon), it ended up becoming the most pre-ordered book since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

I too received a copy as soon as it was available. I could barely get through a few pages before I abandoned it, unable to continue.

Having recently re-read Mockingbird, and reluctant to move out of Maycomb County and Scout and Jem’s world, I decided to give Watchman another chance. Besides, wasn’t I older and wiser now?

What’s Go Set A Watchman about?

GSAW dwells upon Scout’s disillusionment with Maycomb in general and Atticus in particular. It is a coming-of-age novel, of letting go of ideals, of taking Atticus down from the pedestal that Scout (and the rest of us, readers) has placed him on and getting her to realise that he is human after all.

Why GSAW broke my heart

Here’s what I found on reading GSAW

  • A 26-year-old Scout, wiser, more mature, way more cynical (and less likeable).
  • An Atticus who is practical, segregationist, racist even.
  • Jem, gone, dead.
  • The warm and loving Calpurnia (The black house-help) is gone too, replaced by a disillusioned, suspicious version of her old self.

If you have read TKAM I know you’re squirming and cringing just like I did. GSAW is utterly bereft of the innocence and the simple goodness of its predecessor.

The biggest letdown is Atticus. In him, we had a hero. He was not just the conscience of the book but the collective conscience of all of us. And then in GSAW he says things like this:

“Do you want Negroes by the carload in our schools and churches and theaters? Do you want them in our world?”

Heartbreaking!

The case of Tom which makes up the central idea of TKAM, is mentioned in a single line as a flashback. In GASW Atticus fights his case and the black man is acquitted at the end of the trial.

Scout’s childhood memories introduce us to Jem and Dill, but they aren’t there at all in GSAW.

It was like reading two versions of the same book. Worse still, it was like reading an awkward, clunky version of a dearly-loved story.

How GSAW come to be published

It is now clear that GSAW wasn’t a sequel at all. It was, in fact, an early draft of  TKAM.

At the time of its publication, Lee, 89, lived in an assisted facility. She was a stroke victim who could barely see or hear. Knowing whatever we do know of her, she couldn’t possibly have okayed the publishing of this book. She passed away the year after it was published. 

Readers will never forgive Harper Collins for doing this to Lee’s legacy. The publishers continue to promote it as ‘Harper Lee’s sensational lost novel’.

The audacity!

An editor can make a world of difference

The most pertinent takeaway from this sorry episode is the importance of a good editor and how she can transform a book. 

If the dynamics of writing intrigue you, the two books make for an interesting case study.

When Lee’s editor Tay Hohoff (Therese von Hohoff Torrey) stumbled upon this early draft she recognised Lee’s brilliance. However, she loved the parts describing Jem and Scout’s childhood best of all.

She reached out to Lee and asked her to build upon that. 

Luckily, Lee believed ideas needed to be worked upon and improved many times over before being presented to the world. And so the draft went back and forth between the two women. 

One winter morning, a frustrated Lee threw the manuscript out of her window before calling Hohoff, who asked her to go back and retrieve it.

TKAM is said to reflect bits of Hohoff’s modern liberal views.

Together, Lee and Hohoff transformed an angsty, unhappy book into one with the perfect redemption arc and a hero who stands tall even now.

And the world received its classic.

Click on the picture to buy the books.

PS: You might want to look up the film Just Mercy on Netflix that also deals with racism in Maycomb, Alabama.

This post is part of the Bookish League blog hop hosted by Bohemian Bibliophile.

48 Replies to “The two books of Harper Lee #BookDiscussion”

  1. Hello Tulika, I too remember reading TKAM in my college days and remembering getting impressed with the book. I did not recall the ending though and here you refreshed my memory. After going through this discussion about TKAM and GSAW, I think the whole controversy that GSAW was either not a Harper Lee book or was not something she wanted to be published seems quite true.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. Which is why it was so unethical of Harper Collins to publish it just for a quick buck. I’m hardly a writer but even I’d hate for the world to see my first draft.
      Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  2. I loved the book To kill a mockingbird. The second book has been sitting in my bookshelf for ages now after I abandoned it after only a few pages.
    This was an interesting post and thanks to you I know now what is there in the second book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have TKAM. But I left it unfinished after a few pages, as I couldn’t connect with the writing style or the characters. Or maybe I was too impatient. I think I’ll try again. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I get that. A lot of people get so involved in the whole Boo Radley drama that they don’t go ahead with the book, which is so much more. I’d say muster all your patience and give it a try.

      Like

  4. I haven’t read TKaM, but I’ve heard lots about it. I’m so sorry about its sequel. Gosh, how heartbreaking. Thank you for telling your readers about it, I’m sure it was a good trigger warning for anyone that wanted to read it. But I thought your takeaway in the end about the editor was lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I read TKAM only in my thirties. Although I could not connect to the writing style much, I persisted since it’s a classic and deserves to be read. I also watched the movie starring Gregory Peck. Honestly, it did not blow me away or anything. I know of people who absolutely love this book. I received a copy of GSAW as a present and I started reading it. But it lies here abandoned on my bookshelf years later. Maybe I will read it someday. But yeah, I read the story on social media about how the editing of the book transformed it and it warms my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m one of those who love this book not just for the fact that it was able to explain racism in such simple terms but also for Atticus and his wonderful role as a man with a conscience. Also, I picked up some important parenting lessons from him. Sorry, if I’m gushing :-).

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my gosh, I’m currently reading TKAM and it seems so dificult to go by so I read only a chapter every night before I sleep. I think perhaps the genre isn’t interesting me. I love mysteries. But I’m determined to finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, this one isn’t really a mystery, nor is it too fast paced. Which is why you’re probably finding it tough to go on. I do hope you finish it. If you do write about it, tag me too.

      Like

  7. I read the whole post from start to finish and what I can conclude is that this book is not for me. I am unable to get or make an idea what exactly the books are talking about and may be the reasons I am more keen towards thriller reads over others. But the effort you made to bring these books in limelight through your review deserves a round of applause. Many will find the books worthy to read just because of your quality review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah well, all books aren’t for everyone. I get that. As I grow older I find I have more patience for slower books that I can savour.

      Like

  8. My God, Tulika! What you said about books we love as children blew my mind, “You remember you loved a book but you forget the exact bits that made you like it that much.”
    I felt the same for Gone with the Wind. Apparently, the writing is racist in this one as well, but I never saw it like that. People are saying this about Harry Potter too, which is another beloved series of mine.
    I reread both and still don’t see them that way. Glad someone else feels like that for another book too 🙂
    As for TKAM, your views made me understand the importance of a good editor and how some stories should be left where they ended. Thanks for sharing your insights. This post was a great read, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoy re-reading books of my childhood from a fresh adult perspective. Some of them stand the test of time some don’t. But we must remember to appreciate them in the context and era in which they were written.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. This book tells us that being a writer is one of the best gifts in the world because we can turn an ordinary story into an extraordinary one. This is such s story that weaves so many truths of life in one string.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely true. That’s such an insightful comment. Sometimes the charm of a story lies in the way it is told rather than in the narrative. To Kill A Mockingbird stands out for Lee’s storytelling abilities.

      Like

  10. Well, first I must say that I haven’t read a HarperLee book. But I have been trying to read Wuthering Heights again and though it’s now an even slower read, it’s still as fascinating. The vivid escripriton makes me long to see the moors, young Heathcliffe and Catherine.
    So, going by your review, I would certainly pick up TKAM, and then proceed with the next one, based on what I feel about the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh Wuthering Heights was another re-read for me that stood the test of time. I love it even though I disliked both Catherine (the older one) and Heathcliff, specially Heathcliff. Gosh he was such a terrible person. I don’t know how people find him passionate and likeable.
      I do hope you like TKAM when you decide to pick it up.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I actually still haven’t read To Kill A Mockingbird but I didn’t know that Harper Lee came out with a new book. Hopefully that motivates me to pick up the classic, hehe. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Her second book came out way back in 2015 Charvi and you can happily give it a miss. Do make place on your TBR for Mockingbird. That’s a book with a lot of heart.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the post Sonia. Yeah, I thought so too – that the two books made for an interesting case study.

      Like

  12. Tulika, first of all I applaud you for writing such a different post. Bookish discussions are quite difficult to write. Coming to the post itself. TKAM is one of my favourite too. Infact, I made sure the elder one read it as part of the school project. There was an honest and innocence in Scout, which I wanted my boy to understand.
    GSAW, as you said, was a travesty. I did read it, but do not remember a single word of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such a coincidence – my daughter just finished it too and loved it. Isn’t it just the best feeling when your children enjoy books that you loved as a child? Now I’m waiting for her to be through with her exams so we can watch the Gregory Peck film together.

      Like

  13. Thanks for this review. I don’t want to lose the memory of Scout’s innocence. But like you mentioned, the publishers shouldn’t have done this, if at all it was done on purpose (for whatever reason). Not fair at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. What a wonderful post, Tulika. I haven’t read the second book yet. After reading this post I know I wouldn’t hurry to read it anytime soon. It’s a shame that the publisher decided to print GSAW knowing what it was. That reminds me, I have to set my affairs in order to prevent my first drafts from getting published in my 80s without my knowledge. 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha ha Vinitha, isn’t that a frightening thought? My first drafts are terrible – disconnected sentences, half baked ideas and loads and loads of typos.
      You can happily give this one a miss.

      Like

  15. I haven’t read any of the two books, but heard and read about To Kill a Mocking Bird. From what I have read, it deals with racism and justice as its themes. You going in details about it inspires me to get a copy and read it. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Such a lovely post…it is always so heartwarming to visit your blog! Coming to TKAM, I read it much later but was charmed by this innocent world that Scout built. Undoubtedly, it is a lovely book. Then I got a copy of GSAW but never really came down to reading it. Now the comparison you did makes me think I am better off avoiding it. Let that blissful place inside my head remain untouched!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thoroughly enjoyed reading your post. It does sometimes happen that we worry our teenage year favourites won’t live up to our adult expectations, but so far I’ve not been disappointed upon re-reading them (Gone with the Wind; The Fountainhead; The Thorn Birds being a few examples). TKAM is another favourite of mine from my early years. I also dislike this cancel culture which seeks to erase the importance of books published in a different era, discarding the cultural importance of the language used in them and their particular nuances. These are important aspects of history. Truth be told, I wasn’t aware of this so-called sequel of TKAM, but I’m glad I’ve read your review – I’ll most certainly avoid it now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been planning on re-reading The Fountainhead for ever so long but haven’t gotten around to it. Oh and I absolutely love Thornbirds. You’re right about cancel culture. I find it really silly to read books out of context and then ban them.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I commend you for reading TKAM and GSAW and then penning down the review to give the readers a chance to think about the controversy that perhaps GSAW was not something Harper Lee wanted to be published. All writers/creative folks have a right to reserve their drafts or private works.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I read TKAM way back. I have been meaning to pick up GSAW but had no idea it was more of a first draft of TKAM. To go ahead and publish it is downright unethical. That too by the Big Five publisher. The ways of the publishing industry never ceases to amaze me. Definitely giving the book a miss.

    Thank you for participating in the blog hop, Tulika.

    Like

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.