Hello there, Will Shakespeare

Top post on Blogchatter

On a bright sunny day, we decided to undertake a momentous trip. Across the continents we went, down the annals of history in search of the man whose quill has woven tales that have endured through the ages, birthing thousands of retellings and hundreds of cinematic productions.

Ladies and Gentlemen, bringing to you today, a tete-a-tete with the greatest wordsmith, the unparalleled playwright and poet, the inimitable William Shakespeare.

Shakespeare (WS): I am wholly at thy disposal. Inquire forthwith.

WS: I am most humbly and profoundly grateful for thy kindness. I extend mine earnest thanks, as a thousand roses bloom in my heart for the graciousness thou hast shown unto me.

WS: To thine own self be true, I’d say, for in authenticity doth the soul find its compass. Write with passion, and when in doubt, addeth a ghost or two. Ghosts maketh everything more dramatic, trusteth me.

WS: Indeed I do adore the word ‘gossip’ for it spawns many a tale. And ‘swagger’, more renowned as ‘swag’, possesses a certain allure. There’s ‘bedazzle,’ a jewel in the crown of language, from one of mine most celebrated plays, ‘Taming of the Shrew.’

WS: Ah, alas! Thy kindness doth wane, good sir. In my own defense, a man may entertain the crowd on occasion. Thou shouldst have beheld the laughter that it didst provoke.

WS: That might be. For sooth, I aspired to lift a mirror unto the society. ‘Twas the 1500s, and women subservient, held the title of the only ‘good women’. However, did thee fail to mark the irony woven in this tale? By taming Katherine, Petruchio did dismantle the very woman he had fallen in love with. I ponder at times; perchance, in a sequel, ’tis Petruchio who wouldst find himself the vanquished one.

WS: I bear no enmity towards the fairer sex. How can thou overlook the resplendent Rosalind from ‘As You Like It’, the ambitious and powerful Lady Macbeth, or mine own dearest, the apple of mine eye, the wise and beauteous Portia? Tunnel vision, that’s the quandary of this generation. Always poised to pounce upon others without striving to attain a broader perspective.

WS: Ach! A cliched query. ‘Tis a difficult choice, yea, very difficult. However, if compelled at the point of the metaphorical musket (as a certain famed producer-director might say in jest), I wouldst elect comedies. I delight in putting my characters in situations seemingly insurmountable, I revel in the mirth that doth arise when they engage in witty jousts or proffer clever rejoinders. A man of wit am I, or so they allege. Above all, the notion of love doth capture mine fancy, especially when it ends in blissful matrimony.

WS: Indeed, it doth. Mine tales are plucked from the tree of reality. I have traversed its myriad forms in my works – the dutiful filial affection, the profound bond of siblings, and, of course, the ardent flame of youthful love.

WS: That’s slander, good sir! Fetch me the one who did utter such falsehood. Anne was the very love of mine existence. I couldst not wait to claim her as mine own. We did enter into wedlock when I was but a youth of 18. She was my inspiration, my steadfast companion.

WS: A man must toil. I had to journey where duty led me, even if it rent my heart asunder. As for the bed, here thee well, it was our conjugal resting place. I left behind cherished memories of marital joy. And now, if it pleases thee, I have endured enough. I am finished here, good sir.

Fair thee well, I bid adieu.

WS: Nah, no more, the curtain must fall now, Adieu, until our fates entwine once more.

And so it was that our interview came to a rather abrupt end. Our rapid fire remained undone. Another time, perhaps. You’ll have to excuse us as we go backstage now and try to pacify the great man.

****

Do let us know if you enjoyed our chat and we might be able to convince him for a second round.

Meanwhile, you might like to check out another interview we did with the great fighter Obelix of the Asterix Comics fame.

****

This post is a part of Blogchatter Blog Hop and also the Bookish league hosted by Bohemian Bibliophile.

42 Replies to “Hello there, Will Shakespeare”

  1. Totally and absolutely loved your post, Tulika! So delightfully refreshing and original this was. Am very eager to read the second round, very soon, please! :))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is without a doubt the most amazing thing I have beheld in mine eyes. What words, what foreshadowing, what tragedy. As a Shakespeare fan myself, this was a delightful read. So, so so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To be fair, it was a blogchatter prompt that got me thinking. And also I had been helping the children with The Taming of the Shrew a few years ago and that had annoyed me no end. Hence.

      Like

  3. Oh, goodness me! That did feel like Mr. S himself! The language was mind-blowing, indeed, and so much so, I seem to have forgotten my own pathetic vocabulary! ;P
    This was too good, Tulika! Seriously, what ARE you doing writing blog posts? You should be working on a book, my dear. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely brilliant Tulika Not only have you resurrected the famous bard but also managed to give him a hard time, especially that wifey bit and taming the shrew. I could make out many famous lines here and it was very entertaining, I now want to read the Asterix and Obelix interview.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my !
    You actually took a dig at him for the misogyny. That had me chuckling. And that language, uff. I’m wondering how much time, thought and understanding of the Bard’s works went into that. Just lovely, Tulika. Absolutely brilliant 🙂

    P.S.: Do check out my take on the prompt too. Shakespeare makes an appearance there as well😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How. Much. Fun. Was. This!!! Thank you for this, really ticked my funny bone. 🤭 I love the questions you asked. I have a question, have do you know the English spoken during his era this well????

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well the children have been studying him for a while so I have ended up reading Taming of the Shrew, Merchant of Venice, Midsummer Night’s Dream, Tempest — all in decent detail along with them. That’s where much of it came from.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my I absolutely loved reading it. So finely written and loved your take on taming of the shrew. I feel like a lot of the old hindi movies were also based on similar plot. I recently finished reading a novel by wodehouse and I felt like I was listening to Third Earl of Havershot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, the plot of Taming of the Shrew appealed to people across continents because patriarchy appealed to all men back then. Still does to a lot of people.

      Like

  8. Well, I couldn’t stop laughing. Also, the post brought back so many memories from school, banging our heads to mug up the verses before every English exam! Great post, you are amazing with your craft!!

    Like

  9. What an enchanting journey through the realms of history and literature! The interview with Shakespeare unveils the wit and wisdom behind the quill, shedding light on the complexities of his iconic works. The rapid-fire round left me eagerly anticipating a sequel, hoping for more insights into the mind of the literary maestro. Kudos for a captivating encounter with the timeless wordsmith!

    Like

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.