Ten affordable gifts every book lover wants (that aren’t books)

It’s December – my favourite month of the year, mostly because nice people were born in it (Cough! Cough!). Jesus, I’m talking about Jesus Christ. So we have Christmas and Santa and all things happy and giftyeee (not a word, I know).

While on gifts, of late I have been finding it increasingly hard to pick books as gifts for my friends. Thanks to social media – goodreads and instagram – everyone seems to be reading similar books and everyone seems to have read everything.

Even when I’ve picked out books by known well-loved authors they have sometimes failed to live up to expectations. Such a bummer!

And so I decided to curate a list of bookish gifts that aren’t books. I have had the most fun time sorting through multiple online stores. Amazon, Etsy and Books etc came up as favourites.

I’ve left links to the products and mentioned the price for easy access. Also, almost all of them (baring one) are below Rs 1000.

Let’s go.

What: Succulent bookend
Where: igp.com
Price: Rs. 845/-

There’s a huge variety of very pretty ones and most book lovers can find space on their side table or work table to put up their favourite book ends. I particularly love this one for the extra splash of green.

What: Book planters
Where: Amazon.in
Price: Rs. 369/-

If you’re a lover of greens, amazon has some great options for book planters. This one is adorable. (Protip: Check for product specifications before you buy, specially for size).

What: Book tote bags
Where: Etsy.com
Price: Rs. 868/-

This one is from Etsy but Amazon and Books etc have some lovely inexpensive ones. (Protip: Products on Amazon are often marked down compared to the original site). These canvas bags are great for everyday use and sturdy enough to hold a pile of books at a books-by-weight sale.

What: Cushion Covers
Where: Amazon.in, Books etc
Price: Rs. 300/- to Rs. 350/- each

Did you notice the first has Taylor Swift songs made into books? Pretty cool, right?

What: Library pendant
Where: Etsy.com
Price: Price Rs. 1087/-

I love bookish jewellery and I got a gorgeous pendant with a quote done from thebookishpandora.com. Do check her out on instagram. Unfortunately she has been off social media for a while. This one at Etsy isn’t too bad.

Etsy also has some gorgeous book charm necklaces but those are expensive – 2K plus so I haven’t included them here.

What: Floating bookshelves
Where: Amazon.in
Price: Rs. 699/- for a set of three.

These are really neat. We got them for my daughter’s room and she loved them. I like that they aren’t bulky and don’t take up floor space. They can go up almost anywhere, blend in well with any decor in the room. I love the way they disappear beneath the books.

What: Book heart tee-shirt
Where: Swagswami.com
Price: Rs. 849/-

This one is such a favourite I got myself two of them plus one as a sweat-shirt/hoodie. The site has other bookish tees too but this one remains hands down my favourite.

What: Book-shaped trinket box
Where: Etsy.com
Price: Rs. 1582/-

This is the only (relatively) expensive article on my list. But I had to include it for its whimsical design. Isn’t it just so pretty?

What: Digital reading journal
Where: Etsy.com
Price Rs 220/-

This one is a downloadable reading journal with a host of interesting features. It allows for you to hyperlink pages, make reading lists, mark out quotes and much more.

What: Personalised stamps
Where: Amazon, Aliciasouza.com
Price: Rs. 500/- to Rs. 600/-

I just had to add this category because the possibilities are limitless. Personalised stamps are just one category. Armed with a basic familiarity of Canva.com, I have managed to make some pretty good stuff. Here are a few ideas you could try:

  • Teeshirts with favourite quotes or smart takes on book names.
    Girl in the Cerulean Tee or Anxious People: Need more hugs
  • Tote bags with the receiver’s insta feed (If it’s pretty enough).
  • Bookmarks that match book covers (printed out on Canva) or with pictures of favourite books or people.
  • Mugs and Fridge magnets with book covers or quotes.

I’m hoping this eases out the festive season for you at least a little bit.

Lead picture by Marko Klaric on Pexels.

*************

This post is part of the Bookish League blog hop hosted by Bohemian Bibliophile.

16 Replies to “Ten affordable gifts every book lover wants (that aren’t books)”

  1. Oh, such lovely gift options! I personally loved the first one, the bookend, how cool is that? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful list! I remember my friends asking me what I wanted for my birthday and I told them just give me an Amazon voucher so I can buy books on Kindle 😀 I cannot believe I don’t have a book-related t-shirt. Must remedy this immediately.

    Like

  3. Book jewelry is something I’ve been tempted by for long. Might fall for it this season. I have most other items in this list and may I take the liberty to add a couple more? Book Lamp and Digital Bookmark 😀
    The book lamp is absolutely gorgeous and the digital bookmark is a great one for paperback lovers; both are easily available on Amazon. You’re welcome 😎🤪

    Like

  4. How cute are these lovely gift options, Tulika! I loved the bookends and the book planters especially. The floating bookshelf is another favorite. What am I saying, I loved all of them! 🧡

    Like

  5. The list of gifts are so different and unique and I want that Library pendent its so beautiful and I am keen to have that in my collection. Loved the list totally

    Like

  6. This post of yours is such a big help in this gifting season Tulika. I especially love the planter cum bookends, so eco-friendly and multitasking!
    The Tote bag and the cushion covers are great ideas too.

    Like

  7. This reminded me of the librocubicularist cushion you had given to me some years ago! All these bookish gifts are so cool… I’d like to gift myself a book planter. Digital Book Journal looks interesting!!

    Like

  8. I am going to be forwarding this list to all my friends. I am fed up of receiving pens and books that I have already read as gifts…
    P.s. i gifted myself a specially curated book box from Walking Book Fairs the last time I was in India. It came with the cutest mug and tote

    Like

  9. The succulent bookends and book planters are definitely adorable and something I haven’t seen before. Unfortunately booish jewellery is usually expensive so I don’t find it worth spending that much and it’s usually available on etsy stores only.
    But still, this is a nice list 🙂

    Like

  10. These are great options, Tulika. I would love to go in for the bookends. The library pendant looks great too. When it comes to gifts, I prefer a voucher so that I can choose the book I want.

    Like

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Say something.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.